Lifelong Travel Map

Crafting

In an effort to track and celebrate where we travel to, I created our very own lifelong travel map. Durable (for future moving) and editable, this is what you’ll need:

  • A laminated map of the world (I bought mine for £13.99 on eBay.co.uk)
  • Images of your face (and others if required)
  • Simple image manipulation skills (I use a program called GIMP – it’s free, and relatively easy to use)
  • Sticker maker (I printed mine through a company called Moo for around £5.00 for a sticker book of 100)
  • A craft knife
  • Patience and imagination

Open your face images on GIMP or another image manipulation program, and make the background transparent. On GIMP, it’s called Adding an Alpha Channel, you can watch video tutorials online (I know I did!). Save those images as jpgs.

Once happy with the size, upload them on Moo.com into a sticker book and check you are happy to buy.

Once you have bought your world map and stickers, simply craft knife cut around your heads and you are ready to stick! This map is an ongoing project, and the more places we visit, the more heads we stick on!

Leave a comment